Big band, Legit stuff, learning a new embouchure...

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Castle Bravo, Sep 23, 2005.

1. Castle Bravo

Castle Bravo Piano User

Nov 6, 2003
    Sche├člitz, Germany
    Manny -

This is my obsession, and I'm out of my league I'm afraid.

I have been playing the trumpet for 20 years now, and started off in a classical background, legit - music oriented.
    I have been doing the army band gig for 13 years now, and suffer the same ailments as Patrick Gleason to some extent (field playing, loud, bad conditions). Anyway, over the years I started realizing that I'm not getting any younger, and the odds of me landing a 'real' job are quite slim, and my all time favorite trumpets sounds have always come from the bell of the Boss, Roger Ingram, guys like that.

SO, about 3 years ago I got eternally fed up with the status quo, refused to believe that monster lead players are 'freaks', but instead realized that they must have a fundamentally different approach to trumpet playing (than me). I got stubborn and started studying everything I could about embouchure, air, and mechanics. I prayed earnestly for a double C, and promised God that If he gave me a double C I would find a way to 'give it back to him'.
    Within a year I had a double c on command, could nail it out of the blue, cleanly attcked and it would rip your head off. I mean, the kind of velocity that gets people pissed and makes them spill their coffee and throw stuff at you. Big full, edgy sound.

I guess I should have prayed for more than one note.
    I can lock in on about half the notes from high c to double c, and own them to the point of using them in selected sections on gigs. The lower I get, the more things collapse.