Black Trumpet?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by lindajo, Nov 26, 2008.

1. lindajo

lindajo New Friend

Nov 26, 2008
    Hi, My name's Linda and I'm the mother of a musically gifted 7th grader. My son wants a black Trumpet for Christmas and I found a couple affordable one's on ebay but I'm afraid they will be a waist of money. Does anyone know about tthese trumpets?

2. JoeyK

JoeyK New Friend

Nov 22, 2008
    Generally, black trumpets are not worth the money. They sell horns by being colorful, not by being good. Also, if he plans to be in his high school marching band, they likely won't even let him use it. My band director wouldn't.

What horn does he play on now?

3. Borgatt

Borgatt New Friend

Nov 26, 2008
    I have been playing one of these black trumpets for a few years. If your son is going to be serous about playing, this may be a fun horn, but will definately not be his last. The valve speed on mine is horrible, and the braces are starting to come loose. I didn't expect much more, and the reason for me getting this horn was a combination of price/looks (mine was also from ebay). It has served me well for the price, but there is a point where your sons progress will plateau on a lower quality insturment like this. If getting your son one of these trumpets will keep him interested in the horn for a few years until he decides to upgrade it may be worth it. But dont be surprised if its condition starts to degrade quickly.

4. lindajo

lindajo New Friend

Nov 26, 2008
    Thanks so much for the quick replies! He currently plays a brass colored bach 1530 A friend gave me a silver bach/selmer TR300 but it is missing pieces and so needs a little work but it doesn't have any dents. It was probably purchased in the mid 90's. I thought this would be his next upgrade but he is really taken with these black trumpets.

Last edited: Nov 26, 2008
  5. MFfan

MFfan Fortissimo User

Sep 13, 2006
    Kalamazoo, Michigan