Blistex Vs. Non medicated

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by JonathanShaw, Nov 6, 2006.

1. JonathanShaw

JonathanShaw Pianissimo User

Jun 29, 2006
    I was hoping someone could settle an argument I'm having with a friend.

I'm in marching band and thus after spending gameday on friday and competition day on saturday playing outside, my lips are thoroughly chapped. I use medicated Blistex. This has always been the best for me and I have never suffored any kind of reprecution. My friend tells me that the medicated lip ointment breaks down muscles in your lips and will actually be detrimental to playing.

Can anyone settle this argument for us.

2. 40cal

40cal Forte User

Dec 13, 2005
    Minnesota
    Well, I'm no doctor but I don't think there are muscles in the lips, and as long as the stuff works for you keep using it.

3. Brekelefuw

Brekelefuw Fortissimo User

Mar 21, 2006
    Toronto
    Of course there are muscles in the lips. How else do we move them

4. tpter1

tpter1 Forte User

Jan 12, 2005
    Northern New York
    You just did. It works FOR YOU. Maybe not for him. Everyone is different in how they react to stuff. There are muscles around the lips, but as far as IN the lips, I cannot say. So, weather or not medicated Blistex has any ill-effects, I can't answer that, either. (I'm not a doctor...but I saw one on TV). If you've been doing this for a few years with no ill effects, then it's probably safe to continue. Next time you have a Dr. appointment, ask. Then, go talk with your HS biology teacher about muscle structure in the face and get back to us on wheather the muscles are around or in the lips!

5. tptshark

tptshark Pianissimo User

Jun 4, 2005
    Hong Kong