blowing raspberries

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by CaptainBalrog, Apr 18, 2014.

1. CaptainBalrog

CaptainBalrog New Friend

Apr 9, 2014
    Hi,

I started playing with a Harmon mute almost all the time several months ago.

It wasn't by choice. It was the result of a negotiation with my neighbours. I tried a practice mute but it doesn't seem much quieter than the Harmon and it sounds a lot worse.

I only play unmuted in the afternoon which restricts me to Saturday and Sunday unless i have time off work.

Up until recently i found this situation made it a real pleasure to play unmuted and i felt like using the Harmon mute actually helped me develop better tone.

Then the raspberry thing started. It only happens when i play without the mute! It's not like a really hard raspberry. It's more like a really pathetic, airy one.

It doesn't happen regularly. It's not specific notes. It's not just when i blow hard. It can happen at any time with any volume.

It never used to happen so I have to suspect that all the playing with the mute has triggered some change in how i play.

Anyone else ever start randomly blowing raspberries? (Only when playing the trumpet obviously. Anything else is your own lookout.)

Cheers.

Simon.

2. Comeback

Comeback Forte User

Jun 22, 2011
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Welcome to TM! Are you receiving any instruction? If not, a good teacher would be in a position to analyze your problem and provide some guidance. How much are you practicing in a session? Could fatigue be a factor? Are you resting as much as you play during your practice sessions? Does the buzzing go away after a rest? Are you confident you have a well-formed embouchure?

We each must do what we must do in pursuit of our musicianship, but playing with a Harmon beats not playing at all. Besides, it seemed to work out OK for Miles Davis. Good luck.

Jim

3. gbdeamer

gbdeamer Forte User

Oct 16, 2008
    Cause and effect IMO.