Bobby Shew was self-taught, according to my teacher.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by turtlejimmy, Aug 17, 2010.

1. turtlejimmy

turtlejimmy Utimate User

Jun 6, 2010
    Oregon
    Wow.

In my last private lesson we had a little free time for idle philosophical talk and I mentioned that I was very glad to have a teacher, because over the years, during jam sessions and whatnot, I've noticed that the two most awful sounding "self-taught" kinds of musicians are violinists and trumpet players. People who play violin as a 2nd or 3rd instrument behind their main one (usually guitar or mandolin) and were self-taught CAN BE PAINFUL TO LISTEN TO. Horrible technique coupled with lousy or nonexistent intonation. IMHO you need a teacher to learn the violin.

Same with the trumpet. I've paid to see bands (not jazz bands, mind you) with trumpet players who couldn't hit their notes to save their lives (usually FLAT). The last time it happened I asked the sound technician at the concert how he got away with that. The answer was something like, "Most people here are too drunk to notice .... including the band." No, it wasn't a very good concert but it was fun. :roll:

So, hearing that Bobby Shew was self-taught is IMPRESSIVE. Proves that it can be done ........ But don't try this at home. It's rare that anyone gets to the highest levels without a teacher (or teachers).

Turtle

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    I do not think that this is true. It depends more what you call lessons. Check his official resume out:

Official Web Site of Bobby Shew