Bobby Shews Lead trumpet mouthpiece

Discussion in 'Mouthpieces / Mutes / Other' started by flatterthanapancake, Jan 30, 2006.

1. flatterthanapancake

flatterthanapancake New Friend

Jan 30, 2006
    So I'm thinking about getting this mouthpiece. Can anyone tell me if they have one? Or heard anything good about them? Thanks!

2. rjzeller

rjzeller Forte User

Mar 7, 2005
    Rochester, MN
    Be more specific -- you talking about the Marcinkeiwicz or the Yamaha models? Model number? He's got his name on a few different pieces, I'm afraid....

3. Trumpet1Ohio

Trumpet1Ohio Piano User

Jun 22, 2005
    Columbus, OH
    I have no experience with the Shew. One of my students started playing the "Yamaha" Shew a few mos ago at the recommendation of his previous teacher. I saw it and checked out the specs in the Yamaha Catalogue. Very shallow lead piece. It was 16.54 diameter, I think. Pretty small mpc...very bright sound.

Are you a young student or an adult performer. I don't recommend it for a younger player. Let me know your age and why you are interested in it.

T1O

4. flatterthanapancake

Jan 30, 2006
    I am a junior in my highschool. Yes I heard it was a very shallow moutpiece. It's the Yamaha. I am wanting to get it because it's for upper register playing and I playing lead in Jazz band and I want it for playing in the Pep band too.

5. Trumpet1Ohio

Trumpet1Ohio Piano User

Jun 22, 2005
    Columbus, OH
    I don't think the Yamaha Shew is too bad for someone your age and what you want to use it for. What are you currently playing on?

T1O

6. flatterthanapancake

Jan 30, 2006
    I'm playing on a Schilke 15. My lesson teacher got it bent. So I guess it's a bent Schilke 15

7. Trumpet1Ohio

Trumpet1Ohio Piano User

Jun 22, 2005
    Columbus, OH
    The Schilke 15 is a larger diameter mpc. You may have a tough time switching back and forth. What about a Schilke 14A4A? It would be more similar.

T1O

8. flatterthanapancake

Jan 30, 2006