Body Centring

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by tedh1951, May 2, 2008.

1. tedh1951

tedh1951 Utimate User

Oct 18, 2007
    The Wide Brown Land
    I have been playing as a comeback player for a few years now and find that even in a concert band I usually choke when asked to step out of my sectional role and attempt a solo. I usually spend my working day standing in front of a classroom full of strangers and teach technical subjects to very experienced engineers, and have done for 25 years - so shyness would not seem to be a factor.

What is going on?

Very recently I read David Monette's dissertation on body centring and tried it at band last night whilst attempting a solo - concentrate on feet position, knee position, hip position, weight over the middle of the feet - solo proceeded just as it does in the practice room - almost perfectly (within the limits of my skill level).

Any thoughts?

2. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User

More time playing front of people. We often have small things that we do to cover them up when speaking, because we don't need to use our whole body when speaking. In playing, you need to get used to opening up while the audience is there. There are many kinds of stage fright. Just play and blow

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    When you are in front of the class, you are properly prepared and confident. Your experience gives you the assurance that even if something unusual happens, you can deal with it.
    Your playing is normally buried in the section, at that moment you may not be prepared for a solo and you may not have the assurance that you can deal with the unusual.
    The thing most different when you stand is that your sound is not reflected off of the music stand back to your ears. That means you do not hear yourself in the same way and that is unsettling.