Body pain from trumpet playing.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by the newbie, Nov 28, 2011.

1. the newbie

the newbie Pianissimo User

Jan 27, 2011
    San Francisco
    Hey guys, so i've been teaching myself the trumpet for just over 2 years and getting better and better every day. but over the last few months i have noticed a slight pain in my lower right side of my stomach (just around where my belt is). It is not such a sore pain it just kind of lingers around, i didnt go to the doctor cause i don't have one.

Lately i have been concentrating on pushing myself up the register concentrating on getting a good grasp of F and G (on staff), i notice my stomach muscles are definatley developing and its like ive been doing sit-ups.

Just wondering if it is common to get slight abdominal pains through trumpet playing? or is it more likely my lifestyle? ie drinking etc? lol.

I realise you guys are not doctors but im just wondering if it is common?

many thanks in advance.

2. codyb226

codyb226 Banned

Mar 9, 2011
    Florida, US
    There are doctors on this site!

Are you squeezing you abs when you go high? If you must squeeze something then squeeze you legs or butt. It would be better to not squeeze anything at all, just blow more air. This could have nothing to do with the trumpet and could be a medical problem. The only pains I get is in my butt from sitting in the hard metal chairs for 3 hours straight during concerts.

3. the newbie

Jan 27, 2011
    San Francisco
    Yeah i'm definatley squeezing my lower ab.

4. codyb226

codyb226 Banned

Mar 9, 2011
    Florida, US
    Not good. You just blow, dont squeeze anything. You are probably sore from doing that. Work on saying hmph, but give a lot of air, so much that it almost empties you lungs. Then do the same with your trumpet, blow a lot of air.

5. SmoothOperator

SmoothOperator Mezzo Forte User

Jul 14, 2010