Bona vs. Wolfpak

Discussion in 'Mouthpieces / Mutes / Other' started by miles71, Jun 6, 2005.

1. miles71

miles71 Mezzo Piano User

Nov 8, 2004
    Maryland
    anyone have experience with both cases? Whatayathink?

2. tpter1

tpter1 Forte User

Jan 12, 2005
    Northern New York
    I have no experience with Bona, but I do have the WolfPak 2.5. I am happy with the fit of the horns in there. I keep my main Bb, a C and a Picc in there. There is plenty of room for the mouthpiece pouches, as well. I don't really use the internal music hoilder thingy that is on the inside of the top; I bought the music bag and mute bag that go with it. There's a nice removable pad if you need to lay your spare horn on the floor.

The mute bag (which clips on to the outside of the case and looks rather odd when it does) is extremely roomy. I can keep my straight, cup, plunger, wah-wah, silent brass and piccolo straight in there, along with mouthpiece brush, snake, valve oil, pencils and refills (I like the mechanical ones 'cause they clip unobtrusively to the stand) slide grease, metronome (it's big...a Dr. Beat DB88) and tuner. There's also a nice little zippe compartmentt on the outside. (That bag clips only onto the 2.5 case). The music bag is also very roomy, and can also clip onto the outside of the case via D rings and snaps.

I have one of the last of the older ones, which makes a difference. The D rings which hold the shoulder strap are metal, as is the zipper pull handle; I hear they have changed those to plastic on the newer models.