Braces...

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by rapiscrap10g10, Nov 22, 2006.

1. rapiscrap10g10

rapiscrap10g10 New Friend

Nov 22, 2006
    Hello everyone, I just registered and I'm looking to see if anyone else has any advice/exercises/stories associated with playing trumpet with braces. I'm a freshman in high school, and I've had them on for a couple months, but i was just wondering if anyone had any advice to give.

Thanks.

2. tm_webmaster

tm_webmaster Pianissimo User

Aug 9, 2006
    MA, USA
    I got braces in 9th grade, and learned the hard way a few important things about playing trumpet.

1. To play high, do NOT use pressure... (many a cut lip later)
    2. Use air (lots of it) to play high notes... (after learning that cut lips all the time can be a pain)
    3. Lots of long tones, focus on your tone (do not worry about your range)
    4. Keep doing 1,2,3 above...

Finally, got my braces off in 11th grade, and guess what? Because I had focused on "fast air", long tones, etc. and not pressure; I ended up with a high range, great tone, and good breathing techniques...

Take the time to learn to play correct, and it will really pay off when you get your braces off...

Good luck, all else fails put dental wax on your braces that will cut down the cuts on the inside of your lip.

Good luck!

3. cornetguy

cornetguy Mezzo Forte User

Sep 12, 2005
    Saint Paul, MN
    one thing i have thought about with what do others think? in addition to the above have the student play on a larger cup (B or no letter in Bach speak) but in the 5/3 range, which using more then contact pressure, everything will shut down so using the equipment to help the student play correctly.

4. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    I have had 3 students with braces. We got dental wax immediately to cover the braces while playing. I feel the prospect of pain can demotivate all but the most dedicated players - so we just avoided it!