Brass Band Warm Up

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by 11thchair, Nov 2, 2006.

1. 11thchair

11thchair Pianissimo User

Jan 27, 2005
    Evansville In
    I have recently joined a brass band (Bend in the River Brass). 3 practices at this point. Last night they did a warm up that lost me. We did a 4 count C followed by a 4 count B followed bay another 4 count C. Then a 4 count C followed by a 4 count Bb followed bay another 4 count C. Continued down to an Ab. They had a name for it. Anyone know what I'm talking about?

Then they modified that with 1/2 the band doing the exercise without pressing valves. After I figured out what we were doing (about the "C","A", "C") I figured out that I had no idea how to make my cornet do this. I'm new to the cornet, not to trumpet. They had a name for this exercise also. Anyone know what it is? And how does one play these notes with an "open" position? Several seemed able to do this. Everything is pretty new to me - and with all the new stuff I was doing during the practice - I forgot about my questions about the beginning of the practice.

Thanks

2. tromj

tromj Piano User

Jun 4, 2005
    Teaneck, NJ
    They were doing a group lip bend exercise from the sound of it. Experiment at home,and see if you can change notes in the low register just using your lips. after a bit, you should find that it is not too hard, and has some benefits.

3. trumpet blower88

trumpet blower88 Mezzo Piano User

Jun 15, 2005
    Flagstaff, AZ
    The first excersize is called "Remington" its basicaly just a flow study, there are lots of other variations off of it, but the main point is to start on one note (usualy a G) and strech, or flex, up and down chromaticaly expanding the strech by a half step each time.