Bugle Question

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Frankie Prive, Nov 28, 2010.

1. Frankie Prive

Frankie Prive Pianissimo User

Feb 21, 2010
    Mansfield UK
    As well as playing my Bb trumpet, I am in the process of improving my bugle playing.
    I've got a C bugle to which I've added a 7C MP which is about the same as the 11B4 MP on my trumpet and I seem to be making progress.
    However, as a bugle novice I have a couple of questions that I've not managed to find the answer to yet, so am hoping TM members may be able to help me.
    As with any brass instrument, I assume condensation builds up in the pipe, but as there's no water valve, how does this escape?
    When playing outdoors in cold conditions is it a problem or is it just blown through as vapour?
    Also, after playing is there any method of laying the instrument down to assist condensate removal.
    I was going to ask my trumpet teacher and first wanted to do some research of my own but I've not managed to find any answers yet.
    Many thanks in advance.

2. mrsemman

mrsemman Piano User

Apr 8, 2010
    Massachusetts
    Good question. I have a G Kanstul Bugle, but that came with a water key. I would guess, that if there is a water buildup, that it could be sent through the horn by either blowing it through or by turning the horn end over end to assist in getting the water out the bell. You might check with Jari Villanova or Tom Day from Bugles Across America or Jari at Taps150.

3. Peter McNeill

Peter McNeill Utimate User

Jan 30, 2009
    Melbourne Australia
    That's it!!

4. Ed Lee

Ed Lee Utimate User

Aug 16, 2009
    Jackson NC
    If such is of great concern, I would propose you take your bugle to a tech and have a water key installed, not a difficult task for a competent tech. Otherwise turn bugle upside down and blow. The latter has always worked well enough for me.

5. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany