Building Range?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trumpette2017, Apr 3, 2014.

1. Trumpette2017

Trumpette2017 New Friend

Sep 23, 2013
    Sorry if these posts are extremely annoying, I just really need help!
    I'm currently a Freshman in high school and in December, I switched my embouchure. I used to play waaayyy to the right and my tone and tongue were awful, so my teacher decided to switch me over to the center. I try to practice an hour a day. Warm ups, Arbans, Clarke, Pieces, Warm down. After nearly 4 months of this, I've managed to get myself up to a high G or a high A on a good day, but I still think I'm using too much mouthpiece pressure.
    Does anyone have any tips? I've been stuck on this G for over a month now and I've been starting to feel a little discouraged :( Marching season is going to start up again soon and playing first part will be a really big challenge for me. I could barely play it last marching season with my embouchure all the way to the side. And also, does the pencil trick work?
    Thank you in advance!

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Welcome to TM, Trumpette2017!

Try playing your high notes softly when practicing. Soft notes require strong chops to play.

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Trumpette,
    there are so many lies about range. There is basically only one sustainable method: the integration of mind, body, face ears and chops. Any method favoring only one of the aspects (pencil trick, chop exercizes) will FAIL.

We can't force the body to go faster than it will, but we can make sure that we don't slow down the process by making bad decisions.

You mention one hour a day. That is good.
    You mention warm up, technical studies and warm down. I think this needs to be better organized.