Busser: Andante et Scherzo

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by music matters, Sep 16, 2005.

1. music matters

music matters Pianissimo User

Apr 26, 2004
    ON Canada
    Hi Manny,

I am preparing this piece for a recital later on in the year and I haven't as yet found a recording of it. When preparing a piece I usually get a few different recordings of a piece and copy my original score and after careful listening delete all of the dynamics/articulations etc and start annotating again using the recorings of great trumpeters as my guide.

As I can't find any recordings of Busser's Andante et Scherzo I wondered, if you know the piece, if you could give me any tips on how you would perform it. Thank you.

Best regards,

Graham.

2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    Graham,

Sorry to disappoint you... I have no experience with the piece. Think of it this way: your interpretation will be fresh as you have no one else's tradition to go by. If you want to have a better sense of the accompaniment perhaps you can find a pianist to read it with you and you can make a rough recording of the "sesion" just for reference. Maybe you could even make a recording of the piano part alone for your own uses if you have a good friend who can play it that well.

ML

3. trumpetmike

trumpetmike Forte User

Oct 11, 2004
    Farnham (a place too smal
    Shame that you don't know this piece Manny, I was hoping for some of your thoughts on it.
    I played this at university (this was the changing piece for me - it was this one that I consider to be the one that started me on the right path) and have taught it a bunch since. I still haven't come across any recordings of it, although have been slightly tempted to put a version down on tape myself sometime.