buying Lacquer

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by RAK, Aug 21, 2009.

1. RAK

RAK Piano User

Jul 23, 2009
    Kettle Falls, Washington
  2. knotty

knotty New Friend

Jun 8, 2009
    San Francisco, Ca.
    I'm no expert by any means and have never lacquered a instrument but have sprayed cars. I imagine you need a spray booth and a good quality touch up spray gun (small) with a compressor that supplies filtered air with moisture trap. Most of all a way of holding the instrument while you spray it.

But I could be totally wrong.

3. RAK

RAK Piano User

Jul 23, 2009
    Kettle Falls, Washington
    you are 100% right. Yeah the guns I have are for cars. I personally never painted a car but seen family members do it. I have a small gun that's good. It's bigger than an air brush gun. On the videos I watched the worker was holding the trumpet with one hand(he had gloves on) and spraying with other hand. I think I could get a spray booth. I think maybe an old trumpet stand would work. I just don't have an old one. Maybe I could make one of foam and wood.

4. knotty

knotty New Friend

Jun 8, 2009
    San Francisco, Ca.
    I was re-thinking this and perhaps a airbrush may be the way to go for something as small as a trumpet. And the equipment cost would be a lot less too. Perhaps one of those car acrylic lacquers?

For the stand, perhaps a lazy susan setup that you can turn around as you spray. I guess they hold it by something in the bell.

5. RAK

RAK Piano User

Jul 23, 2009
    Kettle Falls, Washington
    I think both guns will work. The airbrush for the small tubing that is hard to reach. I was also thinking about the car lacquers but I was thinking Maybe if I buy lacquers designed for brass instruments It would look nicer. The stand is a very good idea. I'll figure something out as a stand.

6. RAK

RAK Piano User

Jul 23, 2009
    Kettle Falls, Washington
  7. knotty

knotty New Friend

Jun 8, 2009
    San Francisco, Ca.