Buzz

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by rmwtrumpet, Dec 6, 2005.

1. rmwtrumpet

rmwtrumpet New Friend

Dec 4, 2004
    Hello,

I have been playing the trumpet for about 10 years now. I am not a sophomore in college, and seem to have reached my peak, which isn't very high at the moment. I have a very hard time with endurance, and I don't have much for a high range either. For years, I have been told, just breath and it will happen, but it isn't.

After extensive observation, my lesson instructor and I have decided that my problems occur because my buzz in not proper. Instead of the buzz happening with some ease, I am forcing it to happen, mostly by smashing the trumpet into my lips. My lesson instructor believes that if I can get the buzz working, my problems will basically be solved. My biggest problem is that I can't even buzz without a mouth piece. This is the first thing that I am working on. Does anyone have any suggestions to help improve my buzz?

Another thing that we have thought about is possibly switching me to euphonium to see if that will help any. The switch would only be long enough for me to fix the problems that I have.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you.

rmwtrumpet

2. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC