buzzing from 2 sources at a time?! observations from a complete beginner!!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by xelaris, Jan 20, 2009.

1. xelaris

xelaris New Friend

Jan 19, 2009
    I'm a total beginner and started playing trumpet about 10 days ago. Having playing the Saxophone for several years by now I've never imagined how difficult and tiring trumpet playing could be.

Yet, I see some rewarding progress and in the last couple of days as I've managed to hit a very convincing top C!! (2 lines above the stave).

I get a better grip of the higher register by moving my embochure towards the top of the rim (rather than in the middle)...and I think that probably helps the upper lip's muscles to tighten up a bit more (as they are supported by the mouthpiece itself).

Another interesting observation is about the shape of my upper lip...the middle of it is "M" shaped sort (don't have a proper name for that), and while practicing buzzing without the mouthpiece I've noticed that sometimes I produce 2 buzzes at the same times...(these are expelled from the top corners of the "M" upper lip).
    Now, being familiar wiith audio acoustics, those 2 frequencies coming from my mouth might justify the sort of noise I get sometimes from my trumpet (anyone heard of Ring Modulation?).
    Apparently I got 3 buzzing sources: the 2 top corners of the M (these can by used independently) and the one in the center of the mouth.

I guess there is "a right way" of buzzing and although I'd promised myself to learn my own way, it would be interesting to have a feedback from more experienced players.

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    X,
    the feedback should be in person. Getting a kick start will enhance the experience and keep you from developing habits that are very tough to break!

You should not "move" your embouchure. You just need to practice enough to have the strength to let it work in one place.

3. Snorglorf