C trumpets

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Aspiring Trumpeter, Aug 28, 2006.

1. Aspiring Trumpeter

Aspiring Trumpeter New Friend

Oct 2, 2005
    Iowa
    Hey everybody,

I am a freshman in college this year attending Northeast Iowa Community College (which unfortunatly does not have a music program) and am transfering to a larger 4 year school next year. My current intentions are to be a trumpet performance major with an emphasis in orchestral and chamber type music. My private instructor and a couple other music instructors I have talked to have suggested I look into getting a C trumpet because it will help with my orchestral studies. I have tried several different brands and have liked one of Kanstuls' models the best so far, but I really want to try Eclipse and Monette before I make my final selection. I have heard very amazing things about both brands and been out to their sites and they both look great.
    The problem is it is not possible to make it out to either of their shops because of transportation and distance so I was wondering whether anyone had any information on how I might be able to play either brand of these horns without making the long trip from the very northeast corner of Iowa to Oregon, Texas or Massechusettes(however that's spelled)?
    I am located about 3.5 hours from Minneapolis and about 4 hours from Madison, to give some idea of my location. Any advice would be great!

Thanks alot,

Matt

2. cmcdougall

cmcdougall Piano User

Feb 3, 2005
    If you are considering paying the amount of money involved in either an eclipse or Monette then wht is 400$ for a plane ticket?? I cannot speak for the eclipse US shops but the Monette shop was well worth the money for me.

3. bandman

bandman Forte User

Oct 16, 2004
    Lafayette, LA, USA