Can an old man start with a Bach 1 1/2C mouthpiece?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by oldsben, Oct 30, 2008.

Tags:
  1. oldsben

oldsben Pianissimo User

Oct 30, 2008
    California
    I'm new to trumpet. I'm also old to start learning trumpet, a middle age man ^_^.

I got myself a 1959 olds ambassador trumpet to start 2 weeks ago along with my daughter. I have an olds 3 to statrt. And it seemed the mouthpiece is small for me. My lips can't move freely. I'm learning it just for fun, so I'd like to get a bigger mouthpiece say Bach 1 1/2C. Will that be difficult for me to play?

2. oldsben

oldsben Pianissimo User

Oct 30, 2008
    California
    Woops! Please don't reply on this one. It is an extra. I can't delete it.

3. oohhh yeah

oohhh yeah Pianissimo User

Nov 23, 2008
    B.C. Canada
    well, i suggest you get a 3C, the 1 1/2C is considered large and you will have trouble getting the higher notes as you progress

4. Richard Oliver

Richard Oliver Forte User

Jul 18, 2006
    Casper, WY
    Ben, welcome to the horn! If you want to use a 1.5C, go for it! Have fun.

If there's a music store nearby, and they have a junk mouthpiece drawer pull out a bunch and have at it.

Here's a link worth noting:

Forum: trumpetherald.com

A very good friend of mine, a hobby like us, uses a 1.5C very happily. I use a 3'ish very happily. To each their own. Best player I knew well used a 10.5C. Go figure.

Enjoy the horn and happy tooting!

5. MFfan

MFfan Fortissimo User

Sep 13, 2006
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Find an OLDS 7c vintage if you can. Very good playing characterictics and the MP of choice for this old guy (66). Fellow members OLDLOU and Mrmusicnotes love them also. I also have an Olds 3, which is ok, but doesn't have the low range resonance that the 7c has. Another one, my cornet Al HIrt Jet tone has a lot of lip room, also my Merien C Jet tone tumpet MP (close 2nd choice to the Olds).