Can I start with a Bach 1 1/2C mouthpiece?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by oldsben, Oct 30, 2008.

Tags:
  1. oldsben

oldsben Pianissimo User

Oct 30, 2008
    California
    I'm new to trumpet. I'm also old to start learning trumpet, a middle age man ^_^.

I got myself a 1959 olds ambassador trumpet to start 2 weeks ago along with my daughter. I have an olds 3 to statrt. And it seemed the mouthpiece is small for me. My lips can't move freely. I'm learning it just for fun, so I'd like to get a bigger mouthpiece say Bach 1 1/2C. Will that be difficult for me to play?

2. oldsben

oldsben Pianissimo User

Oct 30, 2008
    California
    ?

Last edited: Oct 30, 2008
  3. screamingmorris

screamingmorris Mezzo Forte User

Apr 4, 2007
    Most people don't like the Olds 3 mouthpiece, mostly because the cup is so shallow / small.

I don't know what kind of playing you plan on doing, but a beginner might be limited in the type of playing he will be doing anyway, so specialty mouthpieces would probably not be appropriate.

Bach 1-1/2 is a very large diameter, bigger than most beginners use, and you might have trouble at first playing higher notes, but it would give a really nice tone.
    The main thing is: If you try it and you like it, then it is the right mouthpiece for you.
    Later, as your embouchure (lip muscles and lip formation) develops and strengthens, you can always change to a different mouthpiece that better fits your maturing embouchure.
    But you might find that the Bach 1-1/2C is perfect for you the rest of your life.

So if you like the Bach 1-1/2C right now, then use it.

Or you could try the *very* popular Bach 3C that so many beginners use; because it is slightly smaller diameter and slightly shallower it might be easier for a beginner to use (that would probably be my personal preference if I were just starting out).