Can spending long hours sanding wood affect trumpet playing?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Aside, Nov 15, 2011.

1. Aside

Aside New Friend

Nov 13, 2011
    I have been playing trumpet again for the last 4 years after having stopped for 25 years. All was going well; range coming back (consistent high Eb above the staff + good tone). After a one-month trip to Asia where I only brought the mouthpiece, it obviously was taking a while to get my chops back. But then, out of the blue, one day I could no longer play above F (on the staff) and my tone was ratty. The only thing that changed in my life at that point was that I had begun spending long weekend days sanding a wooden staircase in my house - about 6-8 hours two days a week.

Is it possible that this is affecting the elasticity of my lips? I figure if sawdust can affect the voice, then it could do the same thing for the lips...

2. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia
    You haven't been playing and that's the problem. I'm a landscaper and am around "nasty" stuff all the time. The only thing that affects my playing is my not playing. I would hope you are using some type of respirator/mask when sanding for that long a period. I seriously doubt sawdust can "hurt" you lips, but it can fill up your lungs and that ain't good. I do like your mpc in your pocket plan though. This does sound like a good reason to not do home improvement projects though! ;-)

3. BrassEye

BrassEye Pianissimo User

Sep 9, 2011
    Sawdust is used to absorb moisture. Therefore, it stands to reason that if you're getting exposed to it you'll find that your skin dries out; this includes your lips. I suffer from dry cracked skin on my knuckles if I'm exposed to sawdust etc for extended periods without protection. Drink plenty of liquid, maybe try some Chop Saver or similar lip balms. Not playing won't have helped but if your lips feel dry that's probably half the battle.