Can you help recommend a solo for a hs freshman?

Discussion in 'Orchestra / Solo / Chamber Music' started by annagrl007, Dec 14, 2003.

1. annagrl007

annagrl007 New Friend

Dec 14, 2003
    Hi,

I'm a high school freshman and I need a piece of solo music, I like Beethoven and Russian music. I'm having trouble finding a piece of music, could you help?

Thanks

2. TangneyK

TangneyK Pianissimo User

Nov 10, 2003
    Phoenix, AZ
    Anna--

Andante et Allegro is one I remember playing as a hs freshman. (By the way, I send my regards to the next 4 years of your life.) I forget who it's by, but it's fairly challenging. Ask dbacon about it, he's the one who had me playing it.

--Kevin

P.S. Also look in the back of your Arbans book for some of those etudes.

3. musicalmason

musicalmason Forte User

Dec 14, 2003
    Pa
    When I was a freshmen I auditioned for district band on brides of the waves from the clarke book, I did not make it however, so either I didnt practice enough or the solo is to hard for a freshmen, I dont know.

4. Jarrett

Jarrett Piano User

Nov 11, 2003
    Richland, MO
    Ill second Andanta Et Allegro. It's a really nice piece, and it's a piece that is technically challenging, but even more so MUSICALLY challenging. Damn, I just had the guys name on the tip of my tongue. Anyway, I also took that my freshman year.
    -J
    Oh, it's by J. Guy Ropartz, I think

5. Bill Dishman

Bill Dishman Piano User

Nov 22, 2003
    Gainesville, Florida
    Freshman solo selection

Andante and Allegro is a good all around piece for 8th/9th grade level assuming a 3-4 year experience level. Guy Ropartz is the composer. Has a nice lyrical section and good energetic section with some rhythm concerns that are also good teaching/learning elements.

I recommend getting it as part of the 9 Grand Solo de Concert collection edited by Georges Mager. Good value for the money and several appropriate level solos and one duo.