Can't keep third finger on valve!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trumpetplayer24, Oct 10, 2013.

1. Trumpetplayer24

Trumpetplayer24 Pianissimo User

Apr 3, 2013
    UK
    Hi, I've been playing the trumpet for about 10 years and after moving to a new teacher he has pointed out that I never keep my third finger on the valve which is slowing me down in runs etc. I'm not sure how long I have had this habit for, but I am struggling to get out of it! I've tried putting blue tac on the valve to keep my finger in place, but I always find a way to move it. I'm not sure whether it is just a bad habit or its something to do with the structure of my hand (I have very small hands and my third finger always seems to be at an angle when on the valves) as I have noticed that my brother also has the same habit.

Can anyone give me any advice to break this habit?

2. amzi

amzi Forte User

Feb 18, 2010
    Northern California
    Superglue? Just kidding, how about moving your entire hand toward the bell a bit. You would need to consciously place your right thumb in a position that would compel the move, but that's about the only help I can give you.

3. JNINWI

JNINWI Piano User

Apr 26, 2011
    Earth
    Try this, if you play with a (right hand) straight wrist, try bending it, if you play with a bent wrist straighten it, try moving your hand closer and farther away from the lead pipe,
    Pinky in the ring, on top of the ring, off the ring.....one of these combinations will help your concern. Lastly don't be sensitive with pushing your valves down, snap them down, youtube arturo, he talks about
    how to speed up your valving..... Hope this helps.

4. bumblebee

bumblebee Fortissimo User

Jan 21, 2010
    Great Southern Land
    Do you mean you float your finger above the finger button, or that you move your finger so it slips off or misses? Or do you mean you are pressing the valve at an angle; that is towards the left?