can't play hign notes loud

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by SonicBlast, May 8, 2009.

1. SonicBlast

SonicBlast New Friend

May 7, 2009
    Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
    I'm a sophomore in high school and this will be my 6th year playing trumpet. I have a decent range (a few notes above high C), and I'm told i have good tone. However, i can't play my "high" notes loud. I can play them, but not loud. Even when i play with my school's symphonic band and I have to hold a B just below high C i have to really work to get that to be heard well above the band. People talk about blasting high notes, but i can't even make myself do that.

If it helps, i'm playing on a Jupiter JTR-1602 and Yamaha mouthpieces: 14B4 for symphonic and 14A4a for jazz. The higher notes are easier to play loud on the 14A4a but that might be the shallower cup.

2. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In
    Have you cleaned your mouthpiece with a mouthpiece brush? This can cause this problem.

3. SonicBlast

SonicBlast New Friend

May 7, 2009
    Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
    I haven't done that lately but they look clean. I'll try that and get back to you guys. Thanks!

Just out of curiosity, how would that cause the problem?

4. rettepnoj

rettepnoj Fortissimo User

Feb 22, 2009
    Norway
    If the mouthpiece is to dirty, it will be to narrow! But since you say they are clean, thats not the problem!

I think you should try to work with your air! Try to use fast air!!!

5. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    With a name like SonicBlast, I am not sure that I want to tell you what to do!:lol:

In any case, high notes are the result of dedicated practice, good breathing habits and a good daily routine. Most of the students that I start as beginners have a solid high C in 12-18 months. It would be possible to get high notes faster, but I demand that they can do something musically with it before we focus on it.