Can't stop slurring!!!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by the newbie, Apr 12, 2012.

1. the newbie

the newbie Pianissimo User

Jan 27, 2011
    San Francisco
    When i play i slur. Almost all of the time. It just feels more natural flowing out of me and easier. If i'm learning a new song i will always slur through it at first. Im still a novice but will this be seriously detrimental to my development later on?

(I don't play in a band or have I ever had a teacher)

2. VetPsychWars

VetPsychWars Fortissimo User

Nov 8, 2006
    Greenfield WI
    Not necessarily. For example, there are some exercises in the front of Arban, they're actually more difficult to play slurring.

But you should really practice all articulations regardless of your favorites.

Tom

3. the newbie

the newbie Pianissimo User

Jan 27, 2011
    San Francisco
    Funny! Its going through the first arbans excercises right now, that i am doing! Slurring helps me play it so much that i can start to get the melody, then learn it. I dont have anyone to play it for me to hear it first. Thanks.

4. turtlejimmy

turtlejimmy Utimate User

Jun 6, 2010
    Oregon
    Are you slurring your notes or are you slurring your words? Because, you know, that could be a whole other issue ...

Turtle

5. nieuwguyski

nieuwguyski Forte User

Aug 9, 2004
    Santa Cruz County, CA
    Articulation is vitally important in ensemble playing. If you aspire to play in groups you'll need to learn to articulate. I wish all brass players were required, at some point, to sing in a mixed choir. There's so much musicality to learn, in such a naked setting -- where there's no piece of plumbing between you and the music.

You could learn all the musicality stuff in a men's choir, or barbershop quartet, quite frankly, but I specified a mixed choir because they're good opportunities to meet women.