Chapped lips "feeling"

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by salebow, Jul 28, 2014.

1. salebow

salebow New Friend

Jul 10, 2014
    Edmond, OK
    Guys, I have a question. As a comeback trumpet player after about a 15 year layoff, I’ve been having to reform my embrochure and retrain my lips. I’ve noticed that ever since day one that I have this chapped lips “feeling” but it is above my actual “lip.” It feels like it is in the area between the red part of my lips and my nose where my normal facial hair is. It is worst around where the mouthpiece sits on my skin. The area feels constantly dry for the most part and very, very slight hint of a burning feeling. I don’t know what to do. If I don’t practice for a day, it’ll feel better, but I try to practice an hour every day. I do long tones, slurring up and down, technical exercises and simple articulation stuff every day. I used to not feel like this when I was a serious student and player a long time ago. I don’t know if being where I live now in Oklahoma and the dryer weather has anything to do with it, but when I was a student in Mississippi with the extreme humidity, I didn’t have this problem. After I get done practicing, it feels stiff sometimes. If I could just get rid of the chapped “feeling,” I would be one happy camper. Do you guys have any advice?

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    I could be that you've developed a silver allergy. The worst offenders are nickel and brass, but it could be that you've picked up silver allergy.Our fourth horn suddenly developed an allergy to not just silver, but gold as well. He ended up using a derlin rim.

Any difference in antihistamine use between Mississippi and Oklahoma?

3. salebow

salebow New Friend

Jul 10, 2014
    Edmond, OK
    The only allergy I know of is penicillin for medicine and the trees you use for christmas trees. Yes, I know it sounds weird, but it's true.

4. Dean_0