Choosing a trumpet for a come-back trumpeter

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by gustavomoretto, Apr 14, 2008.

1. gustavomoretto

gustavomoretto New Friend

Dec 17, 2007
    Hi everybody!

This is a cheerfull place indeed.
    I once asked a trumpet player friend of mine how he was doing (in general). He told me he he wasn't sure at that moment (the blues..)
    I asked him wherther he was still playing the trumpet, and he said "of course"
    I then told him he was doing very well...

I want to buy a trumpet. I started playing again a couple of months ago after not playing for only 30 years (...)
    I am a musician, composer, pianist and I want to put some color into the performances of my own music.
    I've been looking at Yamaha's Xeno 8335G models and they seem to have a very focused pitch and seem easy to play. It seemed a bit bright in the lower register but it may be me and not the horn.
    Do you have any coments/suggestions?

Thanks a mill.!

Gustavo

2. Original_Username

Original_Username Pianissimo User

Mar 5, 2008
    Beijing, China
    This may be overstated and cliche, but don't limit yourself to one brand of trumpet. However, the Xeno is quite a good instrument of great quality. My best friend owns one and I'm allowed to "play" around with it from time to time. The only thing I can find that is negative is that it has too much resistance for me. That could be a good thing though for some players.

3. tedh1951

tedh1951 Utimate User

Oct 18, 2007
    The Wide Brown Land
    Gustavo,