Chop building excercises? Please!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by julie_white16, Aug 17, 2010.

1. julie_white16

julie_white16 New Friend

Aug 17, 2010
    Canada
    Hey, I have pretty much lost my chops due to not playing for about two months (i know, dumb move) and am now a couple weeks away from starting college. I'm pretty certain that my face will not last through the three hour practise sessions, or the two hour class. I used to have a pretty good amount of endurance while playing; i could still shriek out a high C after a couple hours (with breaks), but couldn't even think of going any higher.

Are there any excercises that could help me build up my chops again and prevent them from tiring so quickly before school starts? I'm starting to feel a bit desperate. Thanks!

**Clarification**

My regular range is from a low F to a high Eb. The only time my upper register fails is when my lips are exhausted, or in this case out of shape. Also, I am by no means a pro. The only education i have had in music was highschool band classes.

Last edited: Aug 17, 2010
  2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    There are no shortcuts. I guess you have proved to yourself how important the horn is!

I recommend that you use your previous routine. At least that is probably a bit in your head.

Before anybody piles on with "great advice", this player had no more than a high C before (indication of bad habits) and has taken a couple of months off (indication of attitude). The only solution is to start playing again and take your lumps.

If you are studying music, your prof will have much more important things to say.

3. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC
    Edit - never mind. Just get back on the horn and practice. That's the only way to get your chops back.

4. Haste2

Haste2 Piano User

Jun 16, 2010