clarke books

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by The Dutch Guy, Sep 2, 2009.

1. The Dutch Guy

The Dutch Guy Piano User

Sep 22, 2008
    Netherlands
    I've been playing the trumpet for about 12 years now, but I've only used a handfull of books, and they were all from my teacher who wanted them back after I finished them. Besides that I've got piles of sheet music lying around everywhere.
    Sadly, going to college is very expensive, and I really cannot afford a private teacher anymore, so as of this year, I no longer have a teacher, and I'm gonna have to 'home-school':D

I think it's time for some practising with stucture in it, so:
    Im getting the Arban book.
    But, since I'm ordering anyway, should I get some, or all, of clarkes study books? I've found 3 of them so far:
    - technical studies
    - characteristic studies
    - elementary studies

can someone pleas advise me on these books? what's the difference? would I benefit from them? are they hard enough to make me learn a lot of new stuff? which one will I benefit from the most? which one the least?

I've been playing the trumpet for 12 years, and I'm 19 years old. I play about 15 hours a week, including (4) rehearsals ect. I've played pieces like haydn's trumpet concerto, and am working on Arutunian right now. (and having trouble with it)
    I'm trying to work on maintaining almost the same mouthpiece position and pressure in all octaves, and getting a nice tone.

anyhow.... any advise is very welcome!

EDIT: and what about colin's advanced lip flexibilities? is it better that clarke?

2. TrumpetMD

TrumpetMD Fortissimo User

Oct 22, 2008
    Maryland
    Duplicate post.

Last edited: Sep 2, 2009
  3. TrumpetMD

TrumpetMD Fortissimo User

Oct 22, 2008
    Maryland