College Horn

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by TrumpetKid_93, Jun 6, 2011.

1. TrumpetKid_93

TrumpetKid_93 New Friend

Mar 15, 2010
    Hello I need a college trumpet that will allow me to play high longer. Something that won't kill my chops. Alot of you old heads say its not the horn its the player. While I know this to be true, I know it to not always be the case. Just know I'm a well read educated musician. I have a conn victor 22b from 1958. I can push out a good amount of air through the horn creating a full sound, but it takes so much air. I'm assuming this is because of the leadpipe being about .498. When I play my strad I don't have to work nearly as hard to create the same sound and endurance in the upper reg. is much better. I want a good marching horn similar to my strad. What I'm basically trying to ask is, does anyone know of a horn that will provide what I need?

Last edited: Jun 6, 2011
  2. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC
    If you are truly a well read educated musician you wouldn't be asking this question here - you would already know which direction to go and what horns to consider. You are only 17/18 after all - how much exposure could you have had since you decided to get serious about the horn in the last couple of years.

Is there anything wrong with just using your Strad? It seems to me that thousands and thousands of people over the last bunch of decades seem to think it's good enough for a college horn, so why not you? A lot of people like the 43 bell Strad as a lead horn, i.e., they play it higher and longer.

And yes, it's the player, not the horn - as long as the horn is decent, and I have every reason to believe your Strad is decent - then the issues you are facing are mostly yours alone to fix through dedicated, focused practice.