Color

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by JLoyalist, Mar 15, 2011.

1. JLoyalist

JLoyalist New Friend

Jan 30, 2011
    TX
    Hello friends :-)

As a younger musician i am constantly thinking about the color and timber of my sound on the trumpet. Which i'm sure is something that doesn't go away regardless of how advanced you are on the instrument haha. I was just really wondering what everyone here thought about have more of a brighter sound vs a darker sound just as a trumpet player in general. I know some people believe it is better to have a brighter sound and to have a much more diversity in your color of sound but at the same time a know a lot of teachers and players who think that it is best to have a much darker sound or color.I know that personally i have bit more of a brighter sound in the higher register and i find myself having to think a lot more about how my sound fits into an ensemble. I know that a lot of orchestras and western ensembles in general want most of their players to have a much darker color to their sound to help with balancing and to really change the feeling that the sound of the ensemble gives off, but at the same time i also know that many of those same groups are looking for a player with a different color from all the other shades of grey so i think for me personally it can be a little confusing.

If i could get some input on this subject and maybe some wise words from the more "seasoned" players here :lol: it would help me greatly. Thank you! :D

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    My ideal is "golden" in color and weight. Sun rather than moon. Esoteric.

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    actually the sound issue is temporary. When we learn to play music instead of color, speed or octave, we free our minds for much higher things. When we learn to listen instead of broadcast, most decisions become logical instead of " concious"!