Colored Horns Again

Discussion in 'Horns' started by Rick Chartrand, Jan 5, 2005.

1. Rick Chartrand

Rick Chartrand Piano User

Nov 22, 2004
    Toronto Canada
    Hi Toots

I asked this question to Manny and got a rhetorical smart alec answer. His answer was something like 'they dont have more colored horns for the same reason they dont have more prostitutes at classical concerts. Am I missing something? Or is this Mannys thin attempt at humor? Heres the question I asked and maybe you can give me a straight answer LOL, not one that has nothing to do with my question.

Hi Manny

I was wondering about something. So many Jazz and Classical 'Purist' Horns llike Monette, Eclipse etc are usually done in gold or raw brass. I had the GREAT fortune of seeing Miles Davis back on Valentines Day back in 1990 before he died in 1991, which is why I started playing. His sound, emotional content etc was UNREAL. What I also LOVE is that Miles had his Martin Committees Laquered in Various Colors, mostly RED, BLACK and GREEN. Martin (as do a lot of student trumpet makers) make a RED Laquered Miled Davis Tribute horn, one of which I am very happy to own Very Happy Heres the question...I know that a lot of the exotic horn makers, specially the $10,000 Monettes say that laquer ruins the sound of these horns, but why is it then that we dont see more Pro horns in the $2000 range that have more colors? I know that the student horns that are EVERYWHERE on Ebay that sell for $100 to $200 have every color of the rainbow, but why not the $1000 to $2000 range? I love playing my Red Horn specially when I busk on the streets cause it is a real eye catcher and red is a great color that makes everyone feel nice Very Happy Thoughts?

Rick AKA Trumpet Man

2. Anonymous

Anonymous Forte User

Oct 21, 2003
    Hey Rick,