Comeback player, stages of development, and embrochure

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Podzol, Aug 28, 2013.

1. Podzol

Podzol New Friend

May 16, 2011
    Central PA
    Hello!
    I was a self taught player in HS and didn't really touch my horn until about 20 years later when my kid began showing interest. I suppose that story is fairly common.

Since, I have been playing with some regularity and some lessons here and there. Happy to say that I'm getting much better. I am in a community band now and some of the players are excellent, so they serve as inspiration and motivation. Over the past 6 years or so, I feel that I have developed in the following ways:
    • fingering and sightreading
    • range (I can now hit g sitting on the top line reliably and a and b-flat after warm up and before I get too tired) (don't laugh kids- playing high has always been hard for me. Each new note is a mountain it seems!)
    • tone
    • intonation
    • double and triple tonguing
    • relying less on pressure

The band takes a two month break after the Fourth of July hoopla. During that break, I took it upon myself to work on my endurance so when the band plays that show stopper at the end of the concert, I can play the last 8 bars that are usually pretty high in my range. For the first month off, I worked very hard every day. In short bursts of about 5-15 minutes, probably playing a total of 1-1.5 hours a day. About half my time was spent with long tones and the Earl B. Irons books the exercises 5-8. Once I was thoroughly warmed up, I worked on some higher stuff like arrangements of baroque fanfares and some jazz transcriptions that had significant components above the staff.