Comeback week 1

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by misty.sj, Dec 24, 2012.

1. misty.sj

misty.sj Forte User

Jan 27, 2008
    Brisbane, Australia
    I don't think I will be able to keep up with posting my daily practice and it would probably get boring. But I'm a writer for my day job and I'm currently obsessed, so here goes.

Today i the horn! I cleaned it, lubed it, posted pictures of it, then had my first session in four years. I played some long notes, some scales, and a couple easy Christmas carols. In about 10 minutes I was tired.

We went out to lunch and then a movie. I came back and repeated session 1 for 10 more minutes. That's it so far. So much fun!

2. tedh1951

tedh1951 Utimate User

Oct 18, 2007
    The Wide Brown Land
    Do you know what that is? .... You've reached the 1st plateau - the 10 min one - that's your 1st measure of progress :bravo:.

Oh, fortnightly reports will be sufficient - when the excitement dies down. Post if you think we can help.

3. Ed Lee

Ed Lee Utimate User

Aug 16, 2009
    Jackson NC
    Great! Make it 15 minutes by the end of the week, twice a day. The boys alternate 20 minutes playing, twenty mnutes resting, 20 minutes playing for their hour session. I discuss and demonstrate while they are resting.

I'd like to read that you're on the same scheduled regimen within 6 months. Playing time I call "lip time" and is all that I daily put in my journal and the boys record on the forms I provide them of their at home practice. With all my issues, I now alternate lip time of 30 minutes with 15 minutes rest, the latter when I often listen to what I've played ... but not always.

If you smoke QUIT!

Last edited: Dec 24, 2012
  4. Comeback

Comeback Forte User

Jun 22, 2011
    Fort Wayne, IN
    It is great to hear that your comeback has begun, Misty. Best wishes as you continue!
    Jim

5. larry tscharner

larry tscharner Forte User

Apr 30, 2010
    dubuque iowa