Comebacker set back

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by gcast, Dec 10, 2009.

1. gcast

gcast New Friend

Apr 12, 2009
    I have been on the comeback trail for 5 months from 25 years off (occassionaly playing with my kids for about 10 minutes and I was done) Things had been coming along pretty well, but I just ran in to a snag for our last performance. Seems that I lost any clearness of tone at g to d in the staff. Got really airy and then nothing. The last 3 days have been similar. Any ideas?

2. heck99

heck99 Pianissimo User

May 29, 2007
    Greetings!

I'm not a seasoned pro, but I can try to give you some help. The problem could be one of a few things:

1. Your horn: possibly has some blockage or buildup in the horn, I would give it a good cleaning and fresh oiling all around.

2. You're tired. I'm currently getting myself back into shape to possibly change my major to music after two years of another field of study. I've found that since I don't have the endurance and I'm not used to playing for long periods of time yet, I need some rest time to let my chops recover. Take a day or two off from the horn and do some buzzing on the mouthpiece to stay loose.

3. Your warmup routine. I usually buzz the mouthpiece and leadpipe before even playing a note on the horn itself. This helps me get relaxed and focused on putting air through the horn while achieving a full sound. This really helps me on off days to get focused on the basics.

I'm sure you'll recover, just don't think you need to make any huge changes. I've seen guys have bad weeks and start poppin' new mouthpieces like crazy to give them a magic solution, which usually made things worse. I would take a day off, then pick up the horn with a fresh, clear mind. I hope this helped to some degree.

Regards,

heck

3. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In