Comparing Trumpets

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by msodasoccer51, Jan 2, 2009.

1. msodasoccer51

msodasoccer51 New Friend

Sep 1, 2008
    Right now, I am a freshman in highschool, will be playing 1st in marching band next year, and probably 2nd in jazz band. I have found a credible website, that sells used, good, reasonably priced trumpets. I currently have a Blessing XL-TR intermediate trumpet, but am looking for another trumpet to replace it so I can use the blessing as a practice/second trumpet. I am comparing a Getzen Eterna for $675, a Vincent Bach Mercedes in great for $800, and a Kin Silver Flair for $675, a Holton ST-302 for $800. All are silver, in very good to great condition, and key of Bb. I also have an old 1970's Bach Mercedes II which feels like plastic when you play with it, and was wondering if I should go ahead and sell it, since the max price I could fetch for it would be $185ish. I was just hoping for some advice, because I am leaning toward the Bach Mercedes because I have read and found that it is almost the equivalent of a strad, but I don't know much more about the other ones, so I was hoping to find out a bit more, and get some advice.
    ThanksThanks

2. YamaMan

YamaMan Pianissimo User

Nov 29, 2008
    So you want another intermediate horn as opposed to stepping up to a pro?

3. veery715

veery715 Utimate User

Mar 6, 2007
    Ithaca NY
    What is your budget range? What YamaMan is getting at is that you can probably acquire a used pro instrument for the upper end of the prices you quoted us. Trent Austin has a strad ($800) and a yammie 6320 ($700) for sale in the classifieds here either of which is a good pro-quality instrument.

4. gbdeamer

gbdeamer Forte User

Oct 16, 2008

I agree. If you're ready to pay $800 for a used horn, I'd go for Trent's Strad.

If at all possible I'd suggest looking locally for horns that you can play before you buy...

5. Darthsunshine

Darthsunshine Mezzo Forte User

Jul 19, 2008