Complementing my studies

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by just, Nov 30, 2015.

1. just

just Pianissimo User

Dec 26, 2013
    Everywhere
    Hello everyone!

I'm currently studying classical trumpet at college. However, I also have lots of interests in Jazz and unfortunately, the institution where I study doesn't offer students the possibility to take both classical and jazz classes. My teacher, who is a fantastic orchestral and soloist player, doesn't know jazz at all as far as I'm aware and even if he did, he would have to stick to the curriculum of the conservatory.

All of that being said, I'm looking to complement my daily practice with some exercices that will help me later also develop myself as a jazz player as well. The first thing that comes to my mind is practicing modal scales, and maybe using jazz licks and play them if like they were the second Clarke study.

I don't know if I'm making any sense... please let me know if I don't :-?

Thanks a lot everyone,

Just

2. Clarkvinmazz

Clarkvinmazz Forte User

May 11, 2013
    Oberlin, Ohio
    Listen listen listen. The most important thing you can do is listen to the greats- miles, Clifford brown, clark terry, Freddie hubbard, and Harry James to name a few. Try to copy what they're doing, learn famous solos. If you don't have a real book, definitely get one. Also, find other people who are like you and form a group! Just jam and build off of one another. Hope this helps.

3. BachM

BachM Pianissimo User

Mar 10, 2015
    North Carolina, USA
    A private instructor or teaching yourself may be your only option unless you could continue college and minor in Jazz, but this I would not do.

4. Culbe

Culbe Forte User

Jul 25, 2014
    Normal
    image.jpg

Works for me!

5. kehaulani

kehaulani Fortissimo User

May 14, 2011
    Hawaian homey