Confession time

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by bandman, Dec 25, 2010.

1. bandman

bandman Forte User

Oct 16, 2004
    Lafayette, LA, USA
    I have not checked in here in some time. My new life as a school administrator keeps me so busy that I'm lucky to play, much less check in here at TM. I miss you guys.

I have to confess something that happened last night. I was playing a Christmas job at a church where I have played for 30 years. I don't do jobs on a regular basis, but the choir director there is one of my former students and I do it for her basically because I love her and I'm so very proud of her for the way she has made many people’s live better through her teaching music.

Last night when it came time for the Gloria I picked up the wrong horn! I played the first measure on my Bb instead of on my C. I've been playing jobs for 35+ years and never done anything near that stupid before. By the 4th measure I was back in and at the end of Mass everyone was commenting on how I sounded better than ever and that I should start playing again on a regular basis. My thought was that I should sell my horns.

I was so upset at my stupidity that I refused pay for the gig, telling them to put it in the choir fund to buy some new music, and maybe when Easter comes they can hire a trumpet player with a brain.

So there's my confession. I hope you all got a good laugh out if it.

2. Solar Bell

Solar Bell Moderator Staff Member

May 11, 2005
    Metro Detroit
    Good to see you again Dave!

If that was your biggest mistake, you're WAY ahead of the game!

Don't be a stranger!

3. stchasking

stchasking Forte User

Jun 11, 2006
    I was playing for a wedding and the organist failed to switch the transposer dial. She got it to it after the first measure.

I picked up the wrong horn for a hymn at another church. I put it down and picked up the correct horn. After that I put red ribbon on my C trumpet.

It happens.

4. Peter McNeill

Peter McNeill Utimate User