control in the low range

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Young Trumpeter, Nov 12, 2006.

1. Young Trumpeter

Young Trumpeter Pianissimo User

Jun 10, 2006
    im a student in high school and i find that when i'm practicing some of my more heavy duty lip slurs that i have trouble controling the notes generally below the staff. the slurs are unclean and i overshoot them a lot and my intonation is terrible. any advice? thanks.

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    High Young,
    how long have you been playing and what does your current daily routine look like?
    Please define "overshoot" below the staff(there is actually only the pedal tones left?????????). Can you play those notes sustained - cleanly and in tune?

3. Eclipsehornplayer

Eclipsehornplayer Forte User

Sep 14, 2005
    Metro Detroit
    The best advice I can give you is this.

Without seeing you play of course I'm guessing at what the problem may be this is my best guess.

You must make sure you keep your embouchure stable. I found that before I had found a teacher for myself I had a bad habit of loosening up my embouchure when descending below the staff. Kinda like the horse whinny thing you know; face and lips looser the lower I went. You must keep your corners tight! The cure for this for me was James Thompson's buzzing book which I still use. It gave me the idea of one embouchure and better tone.

Yes, your embouchure will not need to be as taught as you'd have it when you ascend above the staff; but non-the-less you must keep it somewhat taught no matter what direction you go in.

Hope this helps.
    John

4. Young Trumpeter

Young Trumpeter Pianissimo User

Jun 10, 2006