Controlling the Higher Register Playing and Lip Trilling

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by mctrumpet98, Feb 16, 2012.

1. mctrumpet98

mctrumpet98 Pianissimo User

Sep 29, 2011
    Down Under
    Hi all,

I've been working to try and settle in with my 3C for the past three months or so. I've now completely restored my range, but I know it will take at least another three months for it to be completely settled. On average I can play an E above the staff, but I have a few problems:
    - Firstly, I have limited control when I get to C#s and higher. What can I do to get more control in that notoriously hard-to-control higher register on the trumpet?
    - Secondly, when I get to Ds I can feel myself using pressure, but I've been told by fellow trumpeters that some pressure is required to play up that high. Is this true? How can I reduce the amount of pressure I use?

Additionally, I have learnt-ish how to do a fast lip trill or shake (like you hear James Morrison and Maynard Ferguson do). The problem is that I generally have less control in the evenness of the shake the higher I go, and I have almost no control when I reach G above the staff (the note I really want to be able to lip trill on). So how do I obtain more control? Practice the shake technique more? I've heard this is bad for you if you practice it more than two minutes in a session.

I have a general feeling that lip slurs are the answer to my questions, but I wanted to know how the pros go about these kinds of things.

Thanks!

McTrumpet98
    :play:

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    The high register is NOT "notoriously hard to control". Bad habits are notoriously hard to break.

Range just "stopping" at a specific note means too much pressure on the upper lip. Lowering that pressure requires better chop control, body use and breathing as well as enough practice time to become familiar with the upper register.