Converting Bb to C, need input!

Discussion in 'Horns' started by prof5, Mar 4, 2005.

1. prof5

prof5 New Friend

Mar 4, 2005
    I'm about half done converting an old Bb Elkhart trumpet to C, but I need some input. I've shortened the leadpipe & bell, and am quite happy with the results - tuning and intonation are pretty good. Now it's time to do the valve slides. Any thoughts on a good way to calculate how much to shorten them? By math it should be about 12%, but I'm not sure.

Garry

ps Yes, I know this is a crazy project, and I don't expect much. I am a professional tech though, so the mechanics of it are no problem. It's the math I'm not sure about! :-?

2. Robert Rowe

Robert Rowe Mezzo Piano User

Dec 24, 2004
    Hello, Garry --

I've wondered about the same thing.
    I'm a "semi-pro tech" (I'm mainly a luthier ... and my wife is a NAPBIRT "techie" with the tools & such, so I do some horn work).
    I have a few "candidate" horns I think might be useful as "crash-test dummies" (they're not worth salvaging, save for parts).
    Before I take out the 'ole hacksaw ... anyone "out there" able to give us some guidance as to the mathematics of it all ...(??)

Regards,
    Robert Rowe

3. eclipse trumpets

eclipse trumpets Piano User

Oct 24, 2003
    England
    Hi Guys

There is no hard and fast mathematical solution to this at all i'm afraid.

Each Bb as you know has a different set up and as such will need a different length of mouthpipe,Bell and slides to get her into tune and enable the slotting to be right.
    I usualy start with taking around 8% of length from the horn as a point of reference, then its the old bit by bit method on each part to get it correct.
    It may well end up that you have in fact taken a total of 12% off, but i like to start small and have the safety net of knowing that i have enough tubing to work with.