Cornet vs trumpet

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by jsclerus, Aug 8, 2008.

1. jsclerus

jsclerus New Friend

Aug 8, 2008
    Hello everyone,

I am quite new to the trumpet field. I am currently renting a trumpet (Conn 22b) while in the learning process. I have not yet decided whether to keep it (eventually buy it from the store) or pursue another. That brings me to this question: which instrument is easier for beginners to learn and play, the trumpet or cornet? I've read the trumpet is better for jazz, but I am more incline towards classical music. :-) Thanks!!

2. brunets

brunets Pianissimo User

May 28, 2007
    Gatineau,QC
    Hi,

That's funny because I almost started with a Conn 22B (actually had a Yamaha 2335 a few months just before buying the Conn trumpet).

The cornet is definitely easier than the trumpet. As for the music style, you shouldn't worry because both Jazz and Classical player are using cornet and/or trumpet.

I also own a cornet (a nice Getzen Capri that I really like - see my avatar ;) ).

Stéphane

3. trumpetnick

trumpetnick Fortissimo User

Nov 16, 2005
    Vidin, Bulgaria
    I must respectfully desagree. The technical base is absolutely the same. Given the fact, that cornets are traditionally played with deeper mouthpieces, it maybe considered even more difficult for a beginner than the trumpet. The reason for recommending often cornets to beginners/kids are 2:

1. The instruments are more compact, which makes holding it easier for people/kids with smaller hands.
    2. The minimum level of techincal command of the instrument required for Brass Bands is lower than playing trumpet part in a symphony orchestra, which makes kids/beginners road to social making music experience, which maybe a good way to motivate the young musician.

4. brunets

brunets Pianissimo User

May 28, 2007
    Gatineau,QC
    But if you compare apples with apples (e.g. same mouthpiece shape), Cornet should be easier.

Stéphane

5. misty.sj