Cornet with trumpet receiver as travel horn

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by rmavillarica, Sep 29, 2011.

1. rmavillarica

rmavillarica New Friend

Nov 14, 2009
    Hi guys,

I am not sure if this is in the right forum heading...

I am just starting out on the trumpet and have no experience on the cornet.

I would like to ask if it would be reasonable to have a trumpet receiver put onto a cornet to be used as a "travel horn." This is so I don't have to buy a cornet mouthpiece that matches my trumpet mouthpiece. Would the cornet behave similarly enough to use as a traveling horn? I have read here that the trumpet, cornet, and flugelhorn are all different beasts. Is there anything obviously wrong with such a setup? Which cornets behave/sound more "trumpet-like?" I guess the short cornets will be more portable, right?

Thanks in advance.

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    If you're just starting out, carry your main horn with you when traveling, like almost all of us have done and still do. Once everything is stable with your playing, and say, you're trekking with a gig the day after you get back, a pocket trumpet has a trumpet receiver and takes up even less space than a cornet.

3. PatMurphy

PatMurphy Pianissimo User

Aug 9, 2009
    Cherry Hill NJ
    AMEN to that.
    Having a cornet that sounds like a trumpet is an awful idea.
    If you do that much traveling having a bulletproof trumpet case sounds like a good idea.

4. rmavillarica

rmavillarica New Friend

Nov 14, 2009
    Thank you for your replies.

I guess I shall scour ebay for a rougher Getzen Capri and pair that with a Protec Contoured trumpet case. The places we tend to visit are on the other (opposite) side of luxury, and I would prefer not to worry about my only trumpet.

5. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA