Cotton Mouth

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Adam Smith, Dec 11, 2007.

1. Adam Smith

Adam Smith Pianissimo User

Jun 23, 2006
    MTSU
    I just went through my third college jury Yesterday. During every one of them I have gotten cotton mouth. The first time was my fault, I didn't drink any water. But these last 2 times I started drinking only water days in advance. I start out fine but when I near the end, I develop terrible cotton mouth. Is this just because I am nervous and swallow a lot? Any tips on how to stop this would be greatly appreciated.

2. Lezwoymn

Lezwoymn Pianissimo User

Oct 11, 2007
    Long Island, NY USA
    It is probably because you are nervous. I get that sometimes also when I'm recording a song, but, I'm no expert, so any other advice from others would be helpful.

3. tatakata

tatakata Mezzo Forte User

May 29, 2007
    Keep a little bit of gum in the side of your mouth.

4. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Advice from cotton [email protected] : "Here's some good advice: bite your tongue! Biting the end of your tongue will give your saliva glands the impression you're about to start eating, and they'll supply you with a small but sufficient amount of saliva. Just be careful and don't lose this tip (or your own!)"

Some trumpeters will put a little lemon juice between their thumbs and index fingers--even when dry, licking the treated spot can often cause salivation.

You might even try the Pavlov trick--imagine your favorite mouth-watering food right before playing. If hamburgers or steak does the trick for you, just be careful not to play like a meathead!

Good luck!

5. Blazing Asian

Blazing Asian Pianissimo User

Nov 10, 2006
    Can someone explain what cotton mouth is please?

6. bilboinsa

bilboinsa Piano User

Jan 24, 2006
    San Antonio, TX
    A very dry mouth.

Adam: