Could my pro trumpet be holding back?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Invisible-Bob, Sep 8, 2011.

1. Invisible-Bob

Invisible-Bob New Friend

Jun 10, 2011
    I just started playing trumpet about 3 or 4 months ago. I have been learning on a Yamaha YTR-8335RG Xeno; a pro trumpet. I have been really struggling making slow progress. My ability to produce a good consistent tone is all over the map. Sometimes its good sometimes its horrible. But here's the thing. I recently started playing with a Bach practice mute with the tuning slide pulled out to bring the trumpet back into tune. Much to my amazement, my playing improved emediately and somewhat dramatically. This phenomanon only seems to work though with the tuning slide out. If I try to play with the mute and slide all the way in I'm horrible. So someone suggested that beginners need the resistance of a student horn that the Xeno simply doesn't provide because it's designed for professionals. Does that sound right? Is my Xeno holding me back?

2. mrsemman

mrsemman Piano User

Apr 8, 2010
    Massachusetts
    I did see your question on the other forum, and yes, practice mutes do provide resistance, since the purpose of a practice mute is to release little or no sound and has only a small opening to release the air. However, you did not mention if you were taking trumpet lessons. A teacher could help immensely. Otherwise, start over again by doing a proper warm up with mouthpiece buzzing, using a B.E.R.P., pulling the tuning slide all the way out and buzzing through the lead pipe, and slowly practicing your scales, while focusing on long tones. Take your time. If your play for a few minutes, then rest for the same amount of time; and use that time to practice the fingerings, and singing the notes. When you get back to playing, try to mentally sing along with your playing. It will help you focus on the sound and pitch of the notes.