Current Info On Insurance

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by TonyM, Jan 23, 2008.

1. TonyM

TonyM New Friend

Jan 23, 2008
    California
    Searching the forum, I find messages from 2003-2004 on the subject of insurance.

Does anyone know of a way to insure a trumpet against loss (theft) while away from home. I'm NOT a professional, and I want to insure
    the trumpet I've lent my grandson (a 1947 Olds Super) while he's
    learning. I'm afraid that it might get stolen while he's at an "event"
    sometime in the future. I had no idea of its value until my daugher saw one on a web site for $650. Mine is not in perfect shape, but I suspect its still worth at least half of that My present home insurance will pay 10% of its value if stolen away from home.

I suppose I could get a special rider, but does anyone know of any
    other way?

2. MFfan

MFfan Fortissimo User

Sep 13, 2006
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    I would check with your homeowners agent and investigate a personal articles floater for the Olds. I used to be an adjuster. I have several low value horns insured for actual cash value very cheaply. Non professional use only, but they are covered off premises, like if someone sits on it in band class, or the kid drops it, etc. Pretty much all risk, no deductable. You may have to get an appraisal or proof of value plus the serial number. If you have a claim they weigh the cost of repair vs the ACV at the time. I can't find my copy of the actual policy now, or I could give you specifics. I don't think there are exclusions for someone else using the instrument, but not sure. Same type of policy that you would list excess jewelry, furs, fine arts, etc. that you want covered in excess of the basic form that you have. My agent takes my word (old friend) on the values and you can change the provisions if necessary.

3. MFfan

MFfan Fortissimo User

Sep 13, 2006
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
  4. dizzyizzy

dizzyizzy Pianissimo User

Jan 27, 2006
    VA