Custom Phaeton Review #3, crash test in progress

Discussion in 'Horns' started by FlugelFlyer, Jun 8, 2005.

1. FlugelFlyer

FlugelFlyer Piano User

Dec 15, 2003
    Palos Park, IL
    Barring any forsaken misfortunes, the Phaeton will be arriving tomorrow (If my place looks like a dump, Nick, its because we're remodeling. If you came later in the season, you could have demoed some vegetables from our garden though :D ). Anyways:

A quick bio of myself. I'm a college student who's majoring in flight management, entering my senior year. The bass guitar is my primary instrument right now, and I probably fall under the category of "high caliber recreational player," emphasis placed on recreational, and I don't consider myself to be a contender for the heavyweight crown anytime soon. I tend to follow the philosophies of Claude Gordon, and though I don't play a huge horn, I find myself playing best on large cup mouthpieces with a medium blow to the whole thing, hence the KT backbore and ML trumpet bore. My Bach is about six years old, and it's the same horn my mother brought me my freshman year of high school. I despise equipment safaris greatly, and if a younger player seems to be struggling with equipment, I'll sand the label of a regular mouthpiece, maybe a Bach 5C or 7C, and tell the student simply to "play this, it'll work for ya!" If I find a student horn searching for the sake of horn searching when the current glove works, I'll probably throw them through a wall.