D# alternate fingerings

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by jason_boddie, Dec 30, 2008.

1. jason_boddie

jason_boddie Piano User

Dec 26, 2008
    Jacksonville, FL
    This is my first attempt at starting a new thread. So, here we go.

I just finished my first practice session of the day. I noticed that on the horn I am playing the Db plays extremely sharp. So much, that I have to kick the 3rd tuning slide out almost 2 inches. So, my are these:

1. Could this be a function of my chops not being completely back after such a long time off the horn?

2. Are the any alternate fingerings that might help that pitch?

3. Am I just to cope, and let my ring finger get a work out?

Thanks in advance for all the help, and I hope this was the appropriate forum for this question.

BTW- I am of course talking about Db 4

Last edited: Dec 30, 2008
  2. Brekelefuw

Brekelefuw Fortissimo User

Mar 21, 2006
    Toronto
    There are no alternates for that note. It is too low on the horn to have many harmonics around it to give alternate fingerings.

Kicking the 3rd valve slide out is what 99% of people do. Horns are naturally built sharp. The tuning needed to play in tune comes from our ears/lips and some slide work.
    If you have a 1st valve slide, putting that out a bit and putting your 3rd valve slide out a bit will make it so you don't have to reach so far when playing a Db, but other wise, it is a matter of your slide being out and your lips doing the rest if it is really that badly out of tune.

3. jason_boddie

jason_boddie Piano User

Dec 26, 2008
    Jacksonville, FL
    Thank you,

I figured that might be the case. It has been a long time, but I still couldnt remember any alt fingerings. That explains why. I will work the slides and lips.

4. Danbassin

Danbassin Pianissimo User

Aug 27, 2006
    Buffalo, New York