Delayed attack

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by valejazz, Apr 12, 2007.

1. valejazz

valejazz New Friend

Dec 11, 2005
    Roma - Italia
    Delayed attack is my lifelong problem since I started playing.

Sometimes gets better, but it's always around and now that my new teacher has started a kind of assault to solve it, it's getting worst the more I think of it.

I'll try to explain: as the mp touches my lips the throat (glottis I think) closes..I can use any kind of attack, I can breath a lot or at the last time, my tongue gets stiff against the teeth as to force the air out.

My first teacher said that I am too much tongue conscious and I have to place more attention on air, so I tried air attack. But if I make one with no mouthpiece on my lips it's ok, the moment the mp is on I feel there's too much tension on the corner, at the bottom of tongue etc...

When I play in big band, quintet or combos the problem eases except when I have to play short detached notes in sequence, it's like opening and closing throat any note I play.

When I study or play solo trumpet pieces it's very noticeable, ruins my good tone and phrasing, makes playing unpleasant for me..

Well...any help from you fellow trumpeters?

Thanks!

2. Stile442

Stile442 Piano User

Mar 26, 2007
    Deland Fl
    I used to have the same problem. Mine was a symptom of my stutter I think though. I would see a short attack coming up and my throat would lock-up. It happened more often at the beginning of a piece for me than anything else. I fixed it by taking the stress out of the attack. What I mean is that I would take the first note of the phrase and just play it like a long tone until my throat eased up and then I would continue with the phrase. Then I would slowly play that first note shorter and shorter until I got it back to the way it was written. By that time the attack no longer gave me problems. After doing this for awhile with any trouble spots the problem went away.