Diagnosing and solving burnout

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by chrisryche, Mar 30, 2012.

1. chrisryche

chrisryche New Friend

Oct 26, 2009
    Starke, FL
    I have been playing the trumpet for nearly 30 years. Within the last 3 or 4 years I have made a bigger effort to play more and get involved with more groups in an attempt to get better as a player, performer and to just have fun. I play in a couple of community bands on a weekly basis as well as in my church orchestra. I also play in several other groups that meet from time to time throughout the year. I sub in a brass quintet on a regular basis too. I try to practice about an hour or two each day when life allows me to.

The last month or so I have been experiencing what I would call burnout. I just have had no motivation to practice and really have not wanted to attend rehearsals. I have even taken a day or two off to just get away from the horn in hopes that was all I needed. But the motivation has not quite returned. I recently attended some concerts by the Canadian Brass and the Boston Brass. While enjoyable concerts its almost like I have gotten even more frustrated knowing my playing will never reach that standard.

Has anyone else experienced some form of this burnout? What did you do? What would you suggest? What causes it in the first place? Where is the Dr. Phil for trumpet players when you need him?

2. codyb226

codyb226 Banned

Mar 9, 2011
    Florida, US
    Why not? Why cant you be as good as those players? It is quite possible for you to be as good as these players. All you have to do is practice.

I am not going to lie, trumpet is not for everyone. It is a demanding instrument and you need to practice. But if you have been playing for nearly 30 years, then you can play trumpet.

Are you stressing yourself out with all of the community bands? Do they make you want to stop practicing because you are overloaded with music to play?

3. richtom

richtom Forte User

Dec 7, 2003